Call for Papers: EDem10 conference

Readers might be interested in this conference:

4th International Conference on eDemocracy
6 and 7 May 2010
Danube University Krems

Call for Papers
It is only now, during the first decade of the 21st Century, that those scientific eDemocracy visions developed in both in the 60s and the 90s are becoming reality and implemented. Surprisingly, it is not the IT developments in IT alone that are responsible for successful eDemocracy projects – it is all those members of society who use them, as they adopt new behaviours. The new, digital generation lives and breathes new values: they collaborate, compile content together, share their ideas, create networks on social platforms and organise themselves quickly and simply. The new values held, the new behaviours, the changed mindset, with improved usability and a usage of the internet which still continues, has led to a rapid and radical change in our society.

The EDem10 focuses on these changes which can be seen occurring in different areas and which are manifest in different way:
* Transparency & Communication (freedom of information, free information access, openness, information sharing, blogging, micro-blogging, social networks, data visualization, eLearning,
empowering, *)
* Participation & Collaboration (innovation malls, innovation communities, bottom up, top down, social networks, engagement and accountability, collaborative culture, collaboration between C2C, G2C, *)
* Architecture, Concepts & Effects (access and openness, user generated content, peer production, network effects, power laws, long tail, harnessing the power of the crowd, crowd sourcing, social web, semantic web, *)
* Different Fields: open government initiatives, eDemocracy, eParticipation, eVoting,
* Different Disciplines: law, social science, computer science, political science, psychology, sociology
* Research Methods

On primary aim is to bring together researchers and practitioners. We would like to invite individuals from academic, applied and practitioner backgrounds as well as public administration offices, public bodies, NGO/NPOs, education institutions and independent organisations to submit their contributions into one of the 6 categories:
1. finished research
2. ongoing research
3. finished projects
4. ongoing projects
5. workshops
6. PhD colloquium submission.

Confirmed Speakers:
Micah Sifry
Co-founder and editor of the Personal Democracy Forum; editor of TechPresident; Sunlight Foundation Consultant

Andy Williamson
Director eDemocracy Programme at the Hansard Society London (U.K.)

Ismael Peña-López
Lecturer and researcher, School of Law and Political Science Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Barcelona

Workshops by:
Pan European eParticipation Network
Committee on E-Democracy of the Council of Europe (CAHDE)

The conference language is English; submissions in German (with an abstract in English) are also acceptable.

EUR 105,- for authors and PEP-NET Members
EUR 125,- early bird rate for participants who register until 28.02.2010
EUR 145,- for participants who register after 28.02.2010

The fee includes conference, proceedings and social program during the conference.
A pre-conference social program will be announced later.

The Proceedings will be published by the Austrian Computer Society.

The EDEM conference series is jointly organised by the Danube University Krems and the University of Economics and Business Administration, Vienna.

Submission of papers (max. 10 pages): 21.12.2009
Notification of acceptance: 31.01.2010
Final paper submission: 28.02.2010

Conference: 6-7 May 2010

Please send your submission in pdf format to or .
Submission via a Web page will be made available soon.
All submissions will be submitted to a double-blind full paper review by at least 2 reviewers. To facilitate the review process, please write a separate cover sheet with the paper title and affiliation/s and omit the affiliations in the actual paper.

Format and Further Information:

Programme Committee:
Ah Lian Kor (Leeds Metropolitan University, U.K.)
Andy Williamson (Hansard Society, U.K.)
Asim Balxi (Selcuk University, Turkey)
Bozidar Klicek (Faculty of Organisation and Informatics, University of
Zagreb, Croatia)
Carl-Markus Piswanger (Austrian Federal Computing Centre, A)
Christian Rupp (Austrian Federal Chancellery, Austria)
Chuch Hirt (CEE CN, Slovakia)
Cornelia Wallner (SORA, Austria)
Dan Jellinek (, U.K.)
Daniel van Lerberghe (Politech Institute, Belgium)
Ella Taylor-Smith (Edinburgh Napier University, UK)
Noella Edelmann (Danube-University Krems, Austria)
Erich Schweighofer (Institut für Europarecht, Internationales Recht und
Rechtsvergleichung, University of Vienna, Austria)
Bengt Feil (TuTech Innovation GmbH, Germany)
Flooh Perlot (Institut für Strategieanalysen, Austria)
Frank Wilson (Interaction Design Ltd., U.K.)
Graham Orange (Leeds Metropolitan University, U.K.)
Georg Aichholzer (Institute of Technology Assessment, Austria)
Günther Schebeck (Austrian Parliament)
Hans Hagedorn (Zebralog, Austria)
Helle Zinner-Henriksen (Center for Applied ICT, Copenhagen Business
School, Denmark)
Jeremy Millard (Danish Technological Institute, Denmark)
Josef Makolm (Ministry of Finance, Austria)
Julia Glidden (21c Consultancy Ltd., U.K.)
Lasse Berntzen (Vestfold University, Norway)
Rolf Luehrs (TuTech Innovation GmbH, Germany)
Francesco Molinari (IDEAL-EU, Italy)
Peter Mambrey (Fraunhofer-FIT Institut für Angewandte
Informationstechnik, Germany)
Matjaz Gams (Jožef Stefan Institute, SLO)
Matt Poelmans (Burgerlink, Netherlands)
Melanie Volkamer (CASED, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany)
Peter Cruickshank (Edinburgh Napier University, UK)
Peter Mambrey (Fraunhofer-FIT Institut für Angewandte
Informationstechnik, Germany)
Peter Reichstädter (Austrian Federal Chancellery, Austria)
Ralf Lindner (Fraunhofer ISI, Germay)
Robert Müller-Török (INTECO, Germany)
Rudolf Legat (Austrian Environmental Agency, Austria)
Sylvia Archmann (Federal Chancellery, Austria)
Thomas Buchsbaum (Austrian Foreign Ministry, Council of Europe/CAHDE,
Thomas F. Gordon (Fraunhoger FOKUS, Germany)
Tom van Engers (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Ursula Maier-Rabler (University of Salzburg, Austria)
Valerie Frissen (Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
Yannis Charalabidis (National Technical University of Athens –
eGovenment and Business Research, Greece)