Call for participation: Swiss evoting conference

Call for Participation

State-of-the-Art E-Voting Systems

September 6, 2010
University of Fribourg

What is the workshop about?

Traditional paper-based voting at the polling station is perceived to be more
secure and transparent than Internet voting. The security impression is linked
to the fact that voting takes place in a controlled environment and that the
whole procedure is transparent. Transparency is guaranteed by the fact that
voters, or their representatives, can observe the vote casting process as
well as the counting and reporting of votes. They can thus check the conformity
of voting procedures with legal requirements. Internet voting systems currently
used by cantons in Switzerland rely, in addition to their technical merits,
on structural and organizational measures to make sure that they satisfy all
legal requirements imposed on voting systems (including those on secrecy and

In recent years, new e-voting protocols have been investigated to make e-voting
transparent to the voter, without compromising the other security requirements.
Some of these e-voting protocols have been implemented. The focus of this
Swiss E-Voting Workshop is on state-ofthe-art e-voting systems. We aim at
bringing together representatives of administration, industry and academia
to follow latest achievements in implementing security and transparency in
e-voting systems.

Who are the speakers?

Several world-leading experts in building secure and transparent
e-voting systems will share their knowledge with the participants
of the workshop:
– Peter Ryan, University of Luxembourg
(Pretty Good Democracy)
– Olivier Pereira, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
– Michael Clarkson, Cornell University, USA
– Helger Lipmaa, Cybernetica, Estonia
(Estonian e-voting system)
– Christian Bull, Norwegian Government
(Norwegian open-source e-voting project)
– Jordi Puiggali, Scytl, Spain
(e-voting system of Neuchatel)

A panel discussion will follow the presentations giving the participants
the possibility to actively raise their concerns.

Who should attend?

Representatives and researchers from academic institutions, administration,
and industry who are involved in e-voting.

Organization committee

– Ardita Driza Maurer, Federal Chancellery
– Eric Dubuis, Bern University of Applied Sciences
– Rolf Haenni, Bern University of Applied Sciences
– Daniel Muster, Federal Chancellery
– Ulrich Ultes-Nitsche, University of Fribourg
– Hans-Urs Wili, Federal Chancellery

Admission fees

Regular fees: CHF 300. Early Bird registration until July 31, 2010: CHF 250.
Members of ISSS or ICTnet receive a 15% discount. University members: CHF 200;
no discount is applicable.

Please visit

for more information and the on-line registration. Registration closes on
August 14, 2010.